Nowadays,many people choose to be self-employed,rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, always more people have decided to work as self-employed, leaving the safety of work as a regular employee. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why this might be happening, describing the possible pros and cons. To begin with, I believe that the cause of this situation could be found in an increase in technology’s development. In fact, with the raising of technology, many other types of jobs are born, such as the creation of shops online. Subsequently, people have decided to be self-employed, working from home, without having a superior that decide on their life. In fact, for example, a self-employed can decide where and how many hours want to work. No one decides for him, which is a great advantage, as he can feel free to live the life he has always imagined. Personally, I would really love to work from home, dedicating time to my personal activities, and earning thanks to my personal ideas. Nevertheless, there are some disadvantages. First, a self-employed, who decides to start his own shop has to open a Vat number, which is not simple. Furthermore, it is not easy to create a successful idea that sells itself, therefore a self-employer needs to know a lot of info about how this kind of work works and if he has no personal knowledge about the product that he wants to sell, he must have someone to trust, which is not easy as well, nowadays. To conclude, although there seem to be many cons, I believe that if there is willingness anything is possible, even creating an own happy life, by working as self-employed.