A government has a responsibility to its citizen to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

In some countries, their crime rates are undeniably higher than the previous years. Many people say that government should reduce the social benefits of their citizens to compensate the budget for the safety of everyone. I do agree that the government should protect their citizen by all means such as allocating policemen to places that are dangerous and providing more safety precaution projects for their people. First of all, everywhere you go there are different kinds of crime. One of these is Snatcher. These people tend to do bad things to provide for their basic needs for themselves and their families. And government can provide safety for the victims. For example, allocating enough policemen to crowded places like around university premises. Secondly, the government should implement more safety precaution projects because this can help to reduce crime rates. For instance, they should build more street lights in dark places or streets. Because this is the place they have the chance to attach their possible victims, no one can see what they are doing because it is hard to see if they are in dark places. In conclusion, it is better that the government should reduce the social benefits of their citizen to provide it for the safety of everyone rather than a few people who are lucky to have the social benefits.