Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

The number of homeless people is growing in many large cities over the world. This essay will attempt to explain what the main reasons are and what type of measures could be taken to face them. From my point of view, I believe that increasing prices and the difficulty to find a good salary could be the main causes while the solution is in the hands of the government. Starting with the causes, it is well known that year by year prices and the cost of living are rising and becoming more expensive to common workers. For example, if people want to go to have lunch at a restaurant, they will spend more money nowadays than five years ago for the same menu. Other examples could be the rise in tariffs not only at restaurants but also at shopping malls, supermarkets, or cinemas. All of this growth in prices affect the population who were middle-class but with this current situation are at risk. The second reason could be the competitive labour system that countries have, which demands all qualifications from employees but without the same guarantees that existed a few years ago, with all workers around 50-60 years old being at risk. Turning to the question of the measures, the government might help these homeless people by providing funding and a house to start again but also, it would be necessary to control the inflation of the market because if not, more and more individuals will be seen in the same situation. To conclude, I think that the rise in price and the instability in the work field are the main reasons for this growth and I believe that the state should provide help to the population who are suffering in this current situation.