Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times,some members of society think that sports are a crucial activity of the community whiles others are of the view that sport is just mere time for engaging in leisure. This essay will discuss both views and give an opinion. To begin with,through sports, quite a number of people have gained celebrity status through their dedication and enthusiasm for sports. For instance, stars like Christiano Ronaldo,Lionel Messi, Serena Williams and Lebron James all started sports at a tender age.But today, these people have it all through sport. Moreover,some of these people give back to their community by building schools, a community hall and better life for their society. Secondly, sports can be a source of generating income for a country. For example, people travel and pay money just to watch events like the world cup. Nevertheless,These games get people to visit countries they have not been to before. This way, the economy of that country is boosted by the influx of tourists who visits and use hotels, transport and restaurants. However, sports can be regarded as a leisure activity despite its merit. Many people watch sports for relaxation. In addition,others too stake sports for betting as gaming purposes.All these are for the fun of the games they love.For,example, most males enjoy watching and playing friendly games with their friends during weekends. Some also have these computerized 3D games that they play with their friends when they come over to visit for relaxation and fun. In conclusion, although some people only see sports as a leisure activity, there are much more opportunities that sports can offer to individuals and the community. In my opinion, the government should involve and invest in sports since this initiative will be of greater benefit to society.