Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, we are seeing a growing number of universities around the globe employing remote learning systems. While someone argues that the learning outcomes are not comparable to those of offline courses, I believe remote study does not necessarily detriment academic excellence but presents some benefits too. Admittedly, on-site learning comes with vast opportunities for college students to develop offline and intimate relationships with like-minded people from different fields who they can add to their professional network in the future, as opposed to distance learning programs that eliminate physical contact. However, I want to demonstrate some distinct benefits of learning remotely during college. Firstly, there is a world of educational resources online consisting of enormous digital materials transformed from original printed ones. Besides this, people who have the access to college’s remote learning system also enjoy live speeches and lectures delivered by world-class professionals outside the country through live-streaming tools that generally accommodate a far greater number of participants than a physical venue. meanwhile, studying virtually provides learners large extent of convenience. Students aboard can obtain university degrees with much less frequent international travel. A recent study from the University of Melbourne further showed that the graduates’ overall academic performance achieved by fully and partially distance education during the pandemic over the past three years did not compromise according to grades and feedback. On top of this, students from deprived family backgrounds can be direct beneficiaries of the associated convenience. For those heavily occupied with part-time jobs and domestic responsibilities, the flexibility in time management offered by remote learning may prevent them from sacrificing their break time to complete all the tasks. To conclude, I would argue that both online and offline can play their part collectively in college education, combining social networking on campus and efficiency and vast recourses accessed online.