Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past decade, the popularity of videogames has been increasing at a high pace. More and more youngsters spend most of their time playing computer games instead of studying and being engaged in sports activities. There are several reasons for that trend, and, in my opinion, it is a negative process which can cause serious hurm to particular people and society in general. Firstly, there are quite obvious reasons for developing situation in that way. Video games itself are more interesting and entertaining than other games, like boarding games. They attract attention more and more children all over the globe, due to its variety of genres, abilities to play online with other people, colourfulness, and its realism. This last word ‘realism’ contains another important cause for a rising popularity of computer games - their capability to substitute the real life. Morden video games provide their users with a simple environment where you can achieve results faster, easy, and in a more predictable way, without any consequences if you did something wrong. Therefore, forcing more young men to chouse this substitute to the real life. I think that this ongoing trend has definitely negative and detrimental effect. First of all, pupils, while playing, lose essential time which they could spend on their education and development, therefore decreasing their chances to get a well-paid job and reach high social and financial level when grow up. Secondly, spending most of the time playing is harmful for their mental health. According to a research conducted last year, schoolcholdren who spend more then 3 hours a day playing games have weaker concentration, attentiveness, and lower academic performance in general, then their peers who play less. To conclude, video games have become absolutely realistic and simple alternative to the real world, which boosts its widespread all over the world. And I am sure, that it is a harmful and absolutely not positive way of development of a young generation.