Today, some food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat locally produced food. To what extent do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

In the modern era, people can access various food items easily, because of advanced processing and refrigeration technologies. Individuals can simply go to supermarkets in their city and buy a variety of food items. However, with every luxury, there is a corresponding disadvantage. This essay explains the severe effects of food logistics on the environment and economical condition of a country. Food logistics poses many threats to our climate and animal habitats. To transfer any food item, it should be processed and placed in refrigeration to avoid exposure to harmful bacteria. These containers emit poisonous gases such as Carbon monoxide, Chlorofluorocarbons and nitrogen dioxide. These gases destroy the ozone layer, and become a major cause of acid rain and global warming. For instance, scientists have found that more than 30% of ozone layers over the north pole is depleted in the last ten years. As a result, the temperature of locations near the north pole has risen, consequently endangering 200 species. The threats of rising temperature are not limited to animals only, on the contrary, it has affected the human population in underdeveloped countries too. For example, Global warming caused the melting of glaciers and extreme floods in northern areas of Pakistan. In 2022, more than 1000 people were killed and 1,00,000 are displaced in these areas. Foods supply from far areas have many economic downsides. Farmers require heavy vehicles and containers to transfer eatables from one place to another. If consumption of these crops is localized, it will save the expenses of these trucks, which will benefit farmers financially. Moreover, the cost of these crops will be reduced. To conclude, I believe that processed foods have many environmental and economic downsides. Although it makes the availability of food easier, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.