In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that all vehicles including cars and buses will become driverless in the near future. This means only passengers will be commuting by these vehicles. In my view, the disadvantages of this situation outweigh the advantages as there will be financial difficulties and risk of accidents. Firstly, one of the main downsides of using driverless buses and trucks is a reduction in the employment rate. There are a considerable number of people who are employed by transportation companies and work as drivers. For example, if the production of driverless cars increases, the number of drivers will be limited. Furthermore, their families may experience financial problems as a family member becomes unemployed. Therefore, I believe that the rising number of newly developed vehicles will cause some detrimental effects on the workers' general income. Secondly, another disadvantage of this development in the transportation system is that the safety of passengers will be reduced. One of the main concerns of travelling by public transport is to maintain the passengers ' security which depends on the drivers. For instance, if the buses will be controlled by themselves, the risk of having accidents will be enhanced. From my perspective, using public transport with experienced drivers will be safer and less stressful for the passengers. To conclude, replacing every conventional vehicle with a driverless one has more drawbacks than benefits due to the risks of an increased employment level and reduced safety for commuting citizens. I believe that maintaining the traditional way of transportation will be more beneficial to the public.