Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open space designs instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Modern construction these days like companies and educational institutions include open area designs instead of separation into several closed rooms. The reason behind it is that it can boost productivity and collaboration of the users to meet their desired goals in their daily activities. I believe it is a positive improvement as it creates an opportunity where students and workers can interact actively and exchange ideas with their peers and colleagues. The main reason for my view is that by providing transparency in the workspace, employees have a chance to enjoy a comfortable and socially friendly set-up. In fact, this trend improves them to be more productive and effective in doing their daily tasks, as they can connect with each other easily. For example, offices in Singapore have proven to impressively complete more projects in desired timelines after a big meeting in a large space which includes almost all of their creative employees where they exchange and plan their ideas into a more complex structure. Another benefit of such improvement in modern design is how the transparent space can increase the chances of children in schools or workers in corporations collaborating actively with each other. In fact, modern schools nowadays have unique spaces where children can benefit from shifting from one class to another. It gives them chances to learn from different educators and interact with peers from other classes. For instance, primary schools in Australia normalize two to three classes in one area to enhance collaborative learning that includes exchange students with different levels of knowledge in their activities. It allows young children to assist others with the peer-learning process. In conclusion, I see a positive progression to shift the infrastructure design in today’s society to an open space in order to significantly increase the efficiency of the users in a collaborative way.