Some people think museums and art galleries should show works of art and history from their own country rather than from different parts of the world. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that museums and galleries should show artworks from local history with no need for exhibitions from foreign countries. This essay will clarify why I believe that both local and foreign art and history should be shown to people. It is imperative for museums and galleries to display works of art from local history. One reason is that displaying the artworks of local history deepens our understanding of the thoughts and behaviour of past generations, which inspires us to relate our current life to the past, enhancing our sense of belonging to the roots and strengthening our cultural identity. Furthermore, locals would be proud of their culture and have a sense of ownership, making them more willing to cooperate with other members of society and contribute to economic growth, such as creating more job opportunities by starting their own businesses locally, which could lead to a more cohesive society. Nevertheless, showing artworks from other countries has its own benefits. As every culture has its shortcomings and stereotypical beliefs, therefore, if museums and galleries only displayed local artworks, it would restrict people’s mindsets. By contrast, if they were exposed to foreign exhibitions, they could avoid such restrictions, thus opening their minds. In addition, they could learn new knowledge from other cultures, encouraging them to think outside the box and develop their creative thinking. When faced with an issue, they might consider it from different perspectives, thus enhancing their problem-solving skills which can be applied to various areas of life, such as studying, working or dealing with practical problems, for instance, repairing a roof. In conclusion, as discussed above, due to their varied benefits, both local and foreign artworks are worthy of being exhibited by museums and galleries.