Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Over the last few decades, plastic products have gained popularity in almost every sector as they are cheap and durable. Bags, bottles and other products made of plastics pose harmful effects on our surroundings. Let’s discuss some of the threats that plastic products impose on our environment and the possible solutions to this issue. One of the first problems, these products are non-biodegradable; hence, cannot be decomposed which results in increasing the pollution level. When thrown on roads or banks of rivers/seas, they end up polluting the soil. Secondly, disposing of them in river or sea not only pollute the water but put deadly effects on marine life as well. The environmental imbalance has evolved as one of the major topics of study by scientists in recent years and these products are also considered as a factor contributing to it. As an example, we can take the fume coming out of burning plastics that pollute the air. One immediate practical solution is that government should take initiative to implement such regulations that can be helpful to stop the use of plastics and bring more eco-friendly alternatives. Furthermore, they should come up with ideas for recycling these products instead of decomposing them. However, it can not be possible without a collaborative effort by individuals as well. For example, they can replace plastic bags with paper bags or cloth bags for their daily needs. To conclude, I would say that we are trapped in the vicious circle of plastic use and replacing it is the need of the era to make this world worth living not just for humans but for others living creatures as well. A combined effort of officials and residents is required to deal with this problem.