In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing high speed railway lines for inter-city travel. Others believe this money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether a great amount of money should be spent on establishing fast trains to connect other cities rather than developing available public transport. Although there are some advantages to having high-speed trains, in my view, the maintenance of current public transport is also essential. In this essay, I will show both viewpoints and my own opinion. On the one hand, citizens in each country initially work in other provinces. This indicates that the utilization of trains is necessary to go across the cities increasingly to save time. If governments invest to establish railways, people who work in rural areas will have more convenience in travelling. For instance, most industrialized factories in Thailand commence being located in the countryside, such as in Rayong province, which there is a further distance from Bangkok that it takes to drive for 5 hours. This shows that workers who live in the capital have to wake up early and take a long time to go there. This is the reason why governments ought to construct it. In addition, investment in high-speed railways is not only one way to persuade travellers to considerably visit the city, but also to get the country's earnings in tourism. However, some people debate that improving public transport has more benefits. First of all, public transport these days are used for a long time which should maintain them to be up-to-date for preventing an accident. Due to some buses in Thailand which have been utilized for more than 20 years, fire often happens. As a result, passengers were injured. Another point is that the number of public transport nowadays is not enough for citizens' needs. In conclusion, even though the existence of public transport is not maintained which leads to accidents, in my view, constructing high-speed trains to travel in the cities is more urgent to tackle for enhancing the quality of the citizens and countries’ income.