Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technological advancements, the working structure witnessed an unbelievable transformation. Employees these days are able to work from home, at airports and almost everywhere. There are many advantages of having the privilege of working anywhere. There are also a bunch of employers who are against these changes. The IT-related field is the pioneer of the work-from-home culture and this evolved in the last decade. Software professionals enjoyed the comfort of working from their homes and this is also applicable to many different fields. For example, employers like Apple realized that their staff are more productive working in their comfort zones and amended their working policies too. They also claimed that employees are comfortable without having to worry about the transport, traffic and the weather conditions etc. Besides these, they can spend their time with their loved ones. There are few managers in the top MNCs who come up with the constraints claiming that managing teams working from home is a hurdle. They are true to a certain extent because they would be habituated to working with people physically rather than on computers and because of this inability, they treat working from home as a less productive option. Finally, to conclude, communication technology has helped bring the world closer and also made working easier. Working from anywhere is a boon to staff as they need not shed sweat to travel hours to reach offices and spend a hefty amount on these travel expenses too. They can save money on different heads while working at the place they are comfortable working at.