Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern era, one of the advancements in technology that is social media has influenced all human beings irrespective of age. Due to social media, we can connect with people without meeting them personally which has made the physically inactive leading to antisocial people. I am completely in favor of this statement. This essay will decipher my viewpoint. Nowadays, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and many more have become a crucial part of each individual. We spent most of our leisure time on social media whereas earlier we were occupied with outdoor games, and visiting relatives however, this has changed now. The pendulum has swung the other way. Being busy with laptops and smartphones has led us to become anti-social people because we have lost the habit of interacting with people physically else we make a connection over the internet. Owing to this we are unable to develop interpersonal skills and be comfortable in our own space. For Example, during the pandemic time people were dependent on social media to enhance their network but after the lockdown lifted humans were not comfortable with face-to-face interaction making them socially awkward. Moreover, presently our youth is leaning on Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook to make new connections. They chat, play, and study on this platform only. This has become a small world to them as a result they have become less confident in facing interviews and the problem of stage fear has also developed in children. Hence, due to this routine, they are resulting into a socially awkward person. To conclude usage of social media has made people less confident while having face-to-face interaction as they have become comfortable with the chat process, which is a way of communication. Consequently, they have locked themselves in a room leading to creating an anti-social society.