Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global travel has become a leading industry worldwide for decades. The sudden boom in the industry could lead to conflicts and tensions between people, however, it also helps in making a better understanding for travellers around the world. I think the industry brings both of them and the following essay will discuss them. Foreign cultures and habits are very different from those of our home countries, however, some tourists are unwilling to follow their traditions, for instance, when exploring Thailand, some visitors wear short skirts or short sleeves to enter a temple. Such behaviours would be considered by the locals as disrespectful of their cultures and traditions, thus leading to conflicts. Moreover, some tourists, after arriving in a foreign country, only focus on visiting but ignore the protection of the environment, for example, they may litter everywhere or make noises at parties at midnight, which can create tension as well. Nevertheless, global travelling can allow us to have a firsthand experience with thoughts, and behaviours from different countries. When we were exposed to people or cultures from different countries, we would consider such differences or distinctions as norms, thus accepting them. This process can also help us stand in others’ shoes and cultivate empathy, thereby improving our social skills. Good social skills could help us get along well with family and friends, and build meaningful relationships with them so that we will feel related to people around us, giving us a strong sense of belonging and a better understanding of people worldwide. In conclusion, as discussed above, travelling globally not only brings conflicts but also understandings between crowds.