Being good at mathematics depends on a person’s natural ability as well as the quality of teaching they receive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For becoming a competent mathematician, receiving adequate training is as important as a person’s natural aptitude. I strongly agree that both of these are needed to the same degree for reaching an acceptable status in the field of mathematics. In the first place, each person’s ability to learn mathematics revolves around their hereditary capabilities. Thus, the scope and extent of it varies among people based on their innate abilities. From this, it clear that why some are better at this subject from the beginning of their course of studies in comparison to others. If talent was not as salient as teaching, every individual attending the same course should have reached the same level, which we do not see in real-life situations. For instance, Maryam Mirzakhani, a famous Iranian mathematician honored with the Fields Medal, was graduated from a top rank university. However, among all the attendees, she was the one who became a distinctive, excellent expert in math. Besides above-mentioned, having an instructor to offer practical guidance throughout the process of acquiring this knowledge is as vital. This means being under the supervision of a qualified educator who could provide a learner’s demand can facilitate the way towards the best version of oneself. Without accessibility to a skillful tutor, many students from underprivileged communities failed to achieve a satisfactory level of mastery in math since they were deprived of acquiring thorough knowledge even though they were considered as unique and talented ones. In conclusion, I think inborn capabilities and having a competent instructor both play equal role in pursuing a satisfactory status in the field of mathematics.