The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the World?

The popularity of English brought about by the flourishing tourism industry has provoked a thought that the language would become the only lingua franca in the world. Although acquiring one global language is advantageous, many latent drawbacks should also be taken into account. On the one hand, better mutual understanding may emerge as the most glaring benefit. To illustrate, if English became predominant and was used officially in every conference conducted by the United Nations, many well-timed globally beneficial policies would be established, leading to several global pressing issues being addressed in a timely manner. Another knock-on effect stemming from facilitated communication is the accelerated process of learning. In fact, Singapore and India have witnessed incredible economic growth by making English their official language so as to easily acquire a wealth of knowledge from well-developed countries where English was dominant. On the other hand, there are also severe drawbacks triggered by a single global language, and the most significant one is the erosion of cultural identity. Apparently, a language is not simply a means of communication; it intertwines inextricably with the culture within which it has developed. Hence, a considerable portion of cultural and historical values would no longer survive and cultural imperialism in favour of powerhouses may happen unless minority languages are preserved. Besides, the waning popularity of tourism could also arise as another disadvantage that the world may encounter. More specifically, there would be no reason for travelling abroad if cultural homogeneity widely existed, culminating in a vanishing injection of resources from tourism in many regions. In conclusion, the fact that certain languages may be universally adopted is inevitable in such an era of globalisation, therefore, both the upsides and downsides of a global language should be recognised to prepare for future development.