People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that technology has transformed our lives drastically. such a change can be seen in many fields especially communications and networking, for example, with a click of a button you have information and daily news at your fingertips, yet, this has made people more and more reliant on their smartphones and the internet. in this essay, I will discuss demerits and merits and explain why it has a negative impact on people. on the one hand, some people argue that the internet and cell phones made our lives much more convenient. to illustrate, people can communicate instantly rather than travelling to far places in order to interact with one another. for example, 50 years ago, people from Egypt had to travel from Cairo to Alexandria just to meet up and conduct their activities, but now with the commencement of 4G and 5G people can now see each other through a webcam, thus, it's evident that travelling is no longer needed. on the other hand, it's indisputable that the internet and cell phone have a negative impact on human health. to elaborate, people spend more and more of their time glued to their phone screens and that could damage their eye retinas and cause early blindness and some cases illness. according to recent discoveries and research publications made at MIT University, it's said that one in 4 adults spent more than 6 hours a day looking at their phone which can lead to early blindness and further health issues. In my opinion, people should refrain from using the internet and smartphones for long hours. thus reducing their reliance on it and aiming for a healthier lifestyle.