experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, professionals suggested that learning a foreign language at a young age is better than in old age. Although I believe that having bilingual ability early in life is more advantageous by helping to develop a child's memory capacity and reducing dementia later in life, it can also be stressful for the child. Firstly, learning a new language has a lot of good merits because it will boost the child ’s retentive memory by opening up more neural pathways in the brain. Furthermore, bilingual children are usually more intelligent than their colleagues in school and they can easily multitask and develop other abilities that are crucial to their future. In addition, recent studies carried out by the NHS supported the idea of acquiring a new language early in life to improve brain functions as well as in the treatment of speech disorders in adolescence. While growing up I had a nine years old neighbour that stutters when he talks in his native tongue, but this subsided after he started learning mandarin. Lastly, studying a new dialect will improve teenagers’ knowledge about a dying culture. Some cultures are going extinct because people have abandoned them. Though it can help revive the culture, it can also create better job opportunities later in life. At a time my uncle a medical doctor relocated to the United Kingdom, he was able to procure a job faster than his peers because he was very proficient in the French language. Hospitals that were recruiting doctors at the time were seeking French-speaking doctors. Nevertheless, learning to speak another dialect early can be bad for a child because it has proven to be a source of distraction and strain on a kid because it takes the time that they can use on sports to keep fit. The majority of the kids on this path become idle and sometimes get fixated with a lack of motivation for other things in school and in life. Professor Darwin at Havard University, he discovered that children that study different languages become introverts because they lose some of their mother tongues In conclusion, even though studying foreign speech is essential for brain development and improves the curriculum vitae for better job placement, it can be stressful for a growing child.