Internet development has a great impact on people's life. Some people say social media do more harm to the youth. Other people say they do the great to youth. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advancement in the internet plays a major role in people's life. Some people argue that social media has more negative impacts on young people, while others argue that there are more positive impacts of social media than negatives. This essay will discuss both views and provide my opinion in the end. On the one hand, arguably social media has made a huge impact on communication. A few decades ago, mails and telephones were the only modes of communication with people who lived far away. Because of this, many people were not able to keep in touch with their loved ones. Development in the internet and technologies made communication easy. For example, social media like Facebook and WhatsApp are effective in communicating with people who live miles away. Furthermore, Young people can create groups on these websites and make communication better. This allows flexible communication in workplaces and educational institutions. This way people do not have to attend meetings physically thus improving productivity. On the other hand, one should not ignore the downsides of these social media, especially in youths' lives. Social media can be accessed easily by anyone. In today's era, many people are scammed through these platforms. Although cybercrime is a punishable offence, the number of offenders is on the rise. For instance, since anyone can create a profile through this, scammers create many fake profiles to cheat online users and extort money. Moreover, young adults can fall for sexual predators. In recent times, there are many youths became victims of these offenders in many countries. To conclude, In my opinion, although there are many advantages of social media, the disadvantages should not be disregarded. Social media can be used to maximize productivity if people are vigilant about the detrimental effects and use them cautiously.