Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and state the views.

It has been argued that there are people who prefer to use their leisure time to get better skills and learn something new. On the other hand, there are also people who think is better to take the opportunity to relax and let their mind take a rest. This essay will attempt to explain both views, although I support the idea of being productive and keeping your mind active. There are many people who spend a lot of time in the week working very hard, even struggling with stress. These people usually prefer to relax when arriving at the weekend and try to disconnect after all the chaos of the week. It is quite normal to desire some time off, but then your life is going to be just working and having time to rest, and you are not going to take advantage of your free time to improve yourself, do new things or even learn something you always wanted to know. However, while it is true that some time of resting is healthy, in excess this may be detrimental. If you make use of your leisure time and you maintain your mind active, then you can improve your intelligence. For instance, if you play chess you would retain more strategies and you will develop a logical mind. This could be very useful for your daily life. In addition, if you are not happy with your job and you want to change it, you can use your free time for reading books and learn a new profession or even start a new degree. Doing this kind of activity is also very healthy, it prevents mental illness in old age like Alzheimer's. In summary, I feel that sometimes just relaxing in your leisure time is necessary and I can understand why people do it. Although, from my point of view is better to use it for improving yourself.