Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people argue, that too much money has been spent on repairing old buildings, so one should knock down the old buildings and develop modern ones. I believe that building new modern buildings would be beneficial and reduce the maintenance cost. First of all, most of the residents nowadays have no time to look after society's welfare and maintenance, like leaking water, cracks on the floor etc. Neglecting all these factors leads to a poor building and the risk for people increases. For example, there was a society named Madhuban in Mumbai which was constructed 20 years ago and the residents have invested a lot of money in the maintenance of the apartment. Although they spent a huge amount of money on welfare, the issue was not resolved. Ultimately they stopped investing money in renovation and the building collapsed.If they had built a modern building instead of repairing the old one it would have been beneficial for the folks. Secondly, technology and construction methodologies have come a long way now. Many modern techniques are used to construct buildings in a manner where they use eco-friendly materials and smart gadgets while construction. This results in less maintenance work which is cost-friendly. For instance, an old building built in Rajasthan was made of poor material, the residents were evacuated and a new building was developed with smart technologies and good civil materials. The engineers installed solar panels and the building was working on solar energy. This resulted in saving a lot of electrical energy. Thus, rather than repairing, developing new buildings is a reliable option. In conclusion, I adhere to demolishing old buildings and constructing new modern buildings. As people want a safe roof to live in, where they don't have to pay a lot of money for the maintenance of buildings.