Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In this contemporary world, some extremely busy individuals prefer to put their seniors in nurseries or care institutions. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of the mentioned action. There are several advantages of putting aged citizens in caring houses or places where they are taken care of by doctors and nurses. The major merit is that the elderly will have opportunities to be provided with their everyday meal which is extremely vital for an individual to live a normal life. For example, they usually are served four times meals. It means seniors will receive their daily nutrients including vitamins and minerals. This will keep them healthy and safe. On top of that, if the clients of such kind of homes are in need of medical treatment, there they can be cured of various diseases. On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages to this case. Despite being cared for, elderly citizens can suffer from loneliness. According to recent research by Kazakhstani scientists, had old people been happy in the care homes, there had not have been a significant number of cases related to depression. In other words, retired individuals enjoy being with their family members because human beings tend to socialize with like-minded people. Furthermore, not all spots for aged people can be safe to stay in. In case there are some unprofessional staff, a person can undergo danger. For instance, some workers may be former criminals and they can use the information taken from the elderly clients in their own favour to plan and organize some petty or life-threatening crimes. In conclusion, there are merits and demerits of being a client of houses for elderly people, therefore individuals should consider all drawbacks and pros before placing their old relatives or extended family members into homes for seniors.