Some people say that marks should be the only criteria for university selection. Others claim this should not be the case and everyone should get the chance. Examine both views and provide a conclusion

The discussion around the necessary requirements for entering university is debatable. There are those who argue that students should be selected only if they have appropriate grades whereas others support that everyone deserves a chance. This essay will discuss both points of view in detail and conclude why a variety of qualifications should be taken into consideration during the selection process. Firstly, people who support a selection system, which evaluates candidates in terms of their grades, believe that it is more efficient and fair for everyone. For example, if this system existed, the selection process would be shorter and recruiters would not be able to alter the results even for their relatives. Thus, candidates would be judged equally, just on their performance during high school and not on their characters, background, or beliefs. On the contrary, there are others who claim that people must have the opportunity to be accepted even without sufficient grades. There are many well-known people who performed poorly during their school years but managed to become successful in life and find their niche in the job market, for instance, founders of popular websites and social media platforms. Cases like these are a great illustration because they prove that people are more than their marks in specific topics and they have personalities and skills which can help them succeed. Therefore, it is important for university recruiters to examine all applications and evaluate everything, including marks, volunteering work, aspirations, and more, before they accept or decline a candidate. In conclusion, this essay examined if the university selection system should be based only on a person's grades or on a variety of qualifications. If people want to build a society with equal opportunities for everyone, it is essential that all criteria will be evaluated and each citizen will have the chance to receive higher education.