Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

While the invention of plastic brought convenience to the life of humans, it has proved to be a double-edged sword. It is polluting the oceans, land, and air; thereby increasing overall carbon emissions. Governments need to incentivize responsible recycling of plastic. On the other hand, citizens should avoid using single-use plastic and replace it with other products. Plastic is polluting the air, which is the basic element needed to sustain life. When plastic is burned, extremely poisonous gases are released into the atmosphere, which pollutes the air quality and, in turn, leads to various respiratory diseases. Older people and small children are the most susceptible to these microplastic particles in the air. Citing from personal experience, I had to leave Delhi as extreme pollution aggravated my mother's sinus infection very frequently. It is easier for people to burn waste. Irresponsible burning of plastic with garbage is the leading cause of this air pollution. Thus, governments should bring policies that give money in return for these single-use plastics. This monetary reward will inspire people to return the plastic and it will be easier to recycle these from central locations. Additionally, normal people need to use alternate products. Using environment-friendly options, for instance, cloth bags instead of plastic bags, will reduce the dependency on plastic. To conclude, we are aware of the numerous ways in which plastic is damaging the environment, polluted air being one of them. But the fact that government and individuals realize the seriousness of the issue, is a silver lining in this situation. Though government needs to make policies for better collection of plastic, it finally comes down to individual people, by using alternates, for the efforts to be successful.