Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, what effects does it have on people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays, illiteracy is continuing around the world as a wide-spread concern. I believe, there are two well-known causes of low literacy, and a number of effects that people suffer as a result of this situation. First of all, one major reason is probably a low economic condition of family. Therefore, the poor parents struggle to afford foods, clothes, and their children’s school needs as well, they tend to put their kids on labour to support the family economically. In additionally, some culture impacts on inability to read or write because local citizens feel that education is not necessary for living. For example, in some agriculture-based society, people believe that if the young generation got the education, it would be useless and they will not cultivate the land. The main long-term impact on people, a low educated person may have low self- esteem or feel emotions such as shame, fear and powerlessness, which can often lead to isolation. President of the International Literacy Association said, “Literacy is an essential to informed decision-making, personal empowerment, and socialization”. The another affect on social is multi-generation impact which means the children of parents who fail to complete primary school are more likely to follow in their footsteps. Those parents can prioritize the work before education, have lower expectations from school that lead to cycle of disadvantage through generations. To sum up, the causes of this fact are to be poverty as a family and social culture. it brings an isolation as a human and cycle of illiteracy generation as a social impact.