In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often taught in certain cultures that hard work is the key to success. I believe that there are a few merits and demerits of this thought which will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, mostly teach their youngsters to strive hard for studies and a job but the biggest disadvantage of this opinion is that a successful individual possesses other qualities like excellent leadership and communication skills. for instance, my nephew was an average student at law school but with his keen professional skills not only secured a highly-paid job but also went abroad for post-graduation. Secondly, those people who work aggressively also suffer from health issues and an unhealthy work-home balance. On the other hand, proponents who support tough grind opine that individuals who spend long hours in the library during student life are more successful than others. Moreover, those children who are more dedicated towards their careers and get good grades not only get fully-funded scholarships but also manage to secure brilliant jobs. For instance, one of my school friend belonged from a poor family background but with his untiring devotion is now a general manager in a multinational company in Dubai. Lastly, such youngsters make their parents proud and promote positivity at the international level. In conclusion, I believe that selfless efforts along with management and problem-solving tactics are important to achieve milestones in life. Hence, children should be taught academic excellence along with strong work ethics and professionalism to lead a prosperous life.