In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Have you ever thought about what is your old age going to be like? Where will you be living or with whom and more importantly how will you be surviving? These are questions that a majority of the younger population do not ask themselves. As a consequence, some of them end up needing financial support for their survival. There is a practice followed in Britain, wherein older people reside together at an old-age home, the question that arises here is who is responsible for paying for the facilities provided there? Firstly, in my opinion, it is the families of such people who are morally obligated to provide for their parents or grandparents. This is because, they have been an integral part of their childhood and teenage phases where they helped them get a head start in life. For instance, in Asia, there is a culture where the parents stay with their children and are taken of by them. Additionally, if the family is not able to support monetarily or in instances where the dependent has no family, it is the duty of the government to be able to provide such people social security at the least as the government has been benefitting by collecting taxes from these people over their lifetime. Moreover, access to basic necessities is the right of every citizen. To conclude, I would say it's the relatives who are primarily responsible for looking after their older generations but the government is equally responsible for ensuring that none of their citizens have to suffer because of a lack of basic resources.