Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health related issues. Some people believe the government should control population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sugar -related health problems are on the rise due to uncontrolled consumption of sugar. Some are of the opinion that government should limit the public consumption of sugar, while others believe that individuals should be vigilant about their dietary habits. In my opinion, both the government and the people should be responsible for healthy eating habits. It is argued that the government should implement strict laws to control their citizens' dietary intake of sugar. In other words, relevant authorities should impose heavy taxes on food items which are high in sugar and reduce the prices of healthy consumables such as vegetables and cereals. Due to the expensive nature of highly taxed food items, people will choose healthy options, which will reduce the incidents of metabolic diseases like diabetes and obesity. For example, in the UK, the government has imposed heavy taxation on sugar -sweetened beverages, subsequently, it is noted that consumption of these drinks has drastically dropped. Moreover, the government should promote healthy food habits by conducting seminars and campaigns through mass media which will educate the public about the detrimental effects of high- sugar products. On the other hand, many hold the belief that the public should take responsibility for their health. Even with strict state policies, a government will not be able to take away the freedom of choice of citizens. To explain further, dietary habit is a choice of an individual. People can still opt to consume whatever they like, regardless of price. However, an individual with sound knowledge about complications of unhealthy eating behaviours, will not consume food items which have a high glycemic index. This can be achieved by creating awareness among the general public about unhealthy dietary practices. To conclude, though there are contrasting views about limiting the sugar intake of the public in general, I strongly believe the government and the public should take necessary action to cut down on sugar intake by promoting awareness and controlling the prices of food which are high in sugar.