Some people think that children should learn to paint and draw. Others believe that is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether children should be taught to paint and draw at school. Both sides of the argument will be explained/discussed in the essay, followed by my own perspective on the matter. People who consider creative activities such as drawing and painting should be taught at school may put forth the following argument. It is not easy to draw what you see on paper with a pen, so this process can improve hand-eye coordination skills. Moreover, there is no universal standard to judge a piece of art, therefore, if children are asked to learn how to draw at school, they will be encouraged to think outside the box, which can develop their creative thinking, and they can apply such skills to their future work or study. Last but not least is that such activities can find out people who are talented in the art field at an early age, thus helping them better recognize themselves and choose future career development in a wiser way. However, opponents to this way of thinking have their own opinion, which they can also easily justify. Exams are usually required for courses at school, therefore, for those who have no talent for drawing, there will be no accomplishments they can gain through such courses, which may even make them feel depressed about school life. In addition, some parents may think the main responsibility for children at school is to work on academic knowledge rather than other art-related classes, such as drawing and painting, and most of them will not land jobs in the art industry, so it is unnecessary to study such courses while at school. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, although some children may not derive direct benefits from learning how to draw, in my opinion, hand-eye coordination and creativity skills can be beneficial to them in their future lives.