An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Childhood obesity is a topic that has sparked debate over centuries, due to the prolific increase in its prevalence among modern society. Currently, a significant proportion of children are victims of obesity, which detrimentally impacts their health at present and in the future, inadvertently raising healthcare expenses. This essay will highlight the reasons and possible solutions to overcome this complication. To begin with, overconsumption of high-fat foods causes weight gain and certainly increases the risk of chronic diseases, namely diabetes and hypertension. For example, a recent article published by a dietitian stated that children who routinely consume energy-dense foods are more susceptible to obesity than those who consume them occasionally, thus supporting the aforementioned viewpoint. Additionally, to alleviate this problem, a sustainable and effective long-term approach will surely yield positive outcomes. Children should be encouraged to eat nutrient-rich meals, including fruits and vegetables that contain an array of vitamins and minerals, thereby promoting overall physiological and psychological well-being. Secondly, another potential aetiology is a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, nowadays, due to the excessive use of electronic devices, children rarely go outside to play in the park and instead prefer to sit indoors, playing games and watching movies. As a result, the balance between energy intake and expenditure is disrupted, leading to an increase in weight. Moreover, through activities like running, swimming, and cycling, this issue can be addressed successfully. Conclusively, it is evident that a lack of physical activity and ingesting food items with high energy density are chief contributors to obesity, but preventive measures such as moderate exercise and mindful eating aid in mitigating it.