The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other private vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that environmental issues have been increasing day by day. Some believe that in order to mitigate this concern the appropriate way is to increase the cost of petrol for cars and personal vehicles. I disagree with this notion because of the rationales followings. First of all, it is true that the number of cars and other transport has increased significantly. Every second person has their own vehicle due to this not only pollution has risen but also the issue of traffic congestion has occurred. In addition to that, if the fuel prices risen, people might be shifted to public transport and bicycle rather than their personal transport. As a result, less smoke would come from cars and the pollution level has been decreased with time. On the other hand, some would say that there are various other environmental problems in the world such as deforestation, global warming, climate change, water pollution and many more. These also a need urgent attention as they are a threat to the world as well. Only increasing the cost of fuel would not help. Furthermore, due to the advancement in technology, scientists have been able to develop several alternative ways such as move to adopt clean energy sources instead of fossil fuels. Fossil fuel is the major factor contributes to pollution. In conclusion, although due to increment in fuel,prices the problem can not be eliminated as there are also various other environment-related concerns which could be curbed by other alternatives.