The promoters of social media claim that they are connecting people and enabling people to share like never before. While critics claim that social media site often impinge upon one’s privacy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two opinions about whether or not social media has a positive impact on society. Although some people argue that online platforms are causing limitations to private life, however, others believe that it has made communication easier which I completely agree with. To begin with, some major drawbacks occur due to the influence of the internet on our private lives. Firstly, people tend to spend a lot of time scrolling videos on social networks and sacrificing their time which became not so valuable. People nowadays become very addicted to social media and they spend each their free time on phones. Although, the reason why people become so addicted to their phones could be explained pretty easily. Because most social media track persons active time on their phones and they suggest content which is interesting only for that specific user. In contrast, the popularity of Facebook and Instagram skyrocketed in concurrent times. This is due to the fact that it succours to maintain relationships by virtually minimising the distance between people who are in different countries. Moreover, one can stay in touch with their loved ones by sharing their photos and videos. For instance, I personally prefer uploading important events in my daily life on these network sites, so that I can keep my friends updated. Thus, this 21st-generation creation is a boon for the population seeking to initiate and sustain friendships. To conclude, although modern media is a double-edged sword, its advantages outweigh the issue of privacy when used appropriately. Therefore, it is imperative to take meticulous care to avoid this turmoil.