Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As environmental issues increase, more and more debates addressing the cause and effect of it have taken place these days. Especially, in terms of capabilities to solve environmental problems, some believe that the government and major firms of a nation can be the only subject to improve the environment, while individuals are incapable. I agree with this idea to some extent, which will be discussed in the essay below. It is admittable that the efforts of individuals can be one of the main sources to make a difference. To illustrate this, as to environmental problems, it is necessary for individuals to put efforts into reducing the number of plastic waste. Even even if only a few groups of people intend to use reusable cups instead of plastic cups every day, overall plastic use will definitely decrease, so every individual also dedicates themselves to a better environment. On the contrary, this aforementioned effort is too minute to change the environment and to deal with a massive problem we are facing, in comparison with the governmental or institutional influences on society and nature. For example, compared to one's yearly waste of plastic, the production of one institution's plastic bag in a day is almost 100 times bigger, so we should look for more methods that can be applied by the industry and the government of a country. It is faster for a company or the government to make an instant difference and development for the environment. In a nutshell, even though every individual can try to help the environmental issues, every government or company can offer more instant and effective improvement, so I agree with the given statement.