“Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a fundamental subject whether or not it is used later in life.” Discuss both sides.

Maths has become a controversial topic for today's parents. A few parents quote "Learning maths at the elementary school is useless while others quote that learning maths at an early age is very essential." Today we will discuss both viewpoints. Firstly, few parents feel learning maths at an early school is useless as it is not used in a larger sense in the career. Maths is only useful depending on the stream opted in the further education or with respect to the career perspective. For example, people in the admin sector, translations etc do not use maths largely except for a few simple calculations like adding, subtracting, multiplying etc which are used via calculators today. Hence, learning complicated maths is not considered to be necessary. On the other hand, few parents debate maths is very necessary for the growing generation as it improves the mental stability of the children, helping them to be competent in both personal as well as professional life. Learning maths may be irrelevant, however, it helps in analysing situations and enables problem-solving skills in personal life too. Simultaneously, it improves the brain's IQ and builds confidence from within. A lot of parents register for out-of-school maths courses for their children like abacus, Vedic maths and so on to improve their level of education. Hence, learning maths is a varied opinion from person to person. I have hereby discussed both the views of the parents as to why learning maths is important and why learning maths is irrelevant.