When a country develops in technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try to keep them alive. To what extent do you agree on this opinion?

Traditions and culture have played a massive role in our life. However, with the development of technology, it is evident that traditional methods of work are unheard of. This has led some to believe that there is no use in keeping them alive. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with the importance of maintaining traditional skills and lifestyles for the future and reason why some believe otherwise. Firstly, traditions act as the building blocks of life. For example, the foundation of the most complex and intricate machinery like food processors was based upon traditional equipment like motors and pestles. Although the latter requires much more labour, if we completely replace the ancient machinery, from where would we learn the basics? Secondly, some of the traditional skills like weaving, paintings, and pottery which act as an inter-generational passage between the old and the new keep the family roots alive so that the younger generation can thrive in learning new talents along with great family bonding time. Around 85% of people in South East Asian housewives preferred to use traditional equipment for their cooking as they believe it preserved a majority of the nutrients. On the contrary, an alternative perspective is given by some who think that technologically advanced equipment and skills are much more convenient and easier when compared to traditional methods hence, investing money in less efficient methods seems like a burden to the country’s economy. Even if the foundation technologies are hardly replaceable but maintaining them is way more expensive. Taking everything into consideration, it is my belief that we should not forget our roots completely and try to keep our traditions alive for the next generation.