Some people believe that technological tools such body scanners and CCTV have significantly enhanced our safety and security, while others feel they have resulted in a loss of privacy. Do the benefits of these items outweigh their disadvantages?

The development of technology has always been like how a knife functions in someone's hand. When it comes to the proper use then it will assist people in terms of cooking. However, if the knife is held by a villain, then it would be a weapon to murder someone. In this essay, the pros, and cons of the utilization of CCTV will be explained consecutively. To begin with, the invention of CCTV has been helping people in general and police officers in specific to solve a crime that occurred in many countries. For instance, there was a murder case in Indonesia. The suspect was a friend of a woman whom she went to the apartment with. By scrutinizing the timeline from the CCTV, the case was successfully revealed that the man was the last person who was in contact with the victim. This one example is the benefit of CCTV to gather the data with authentic evidence. On the other hand, CCTV sometimes has negative effects when it comes to privacy. There were some occasions where CCTV was installed in a private space unnotified by people around it. The misplacement of CCTV such as in a restroom, a changing room, or sometimes even in a hotel room will lead to the misuse of this filming activity. Thus, the government is required to set a profound law to regulate this. To sum up this essay, CCTV seems to have more advantages than the opposing argument against this. It is believed that there has been no advanced technology invented that is able to alter the function of CCTV. Nonetheless, how CCTV is placed needs to be well-regulated therefore, it will not bother someone’s private space.