Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the significantly growing number of people with health problems who are trying alternative medical treatments rather than consulting a medical professional, I believe that it is a serious issue causing a detrimental development that the general public must concern themselves about. People with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments due to their convenience. They are not required to walk to the clinic to queue for the diagnosis because, with the accessibility of alternative medications, they can have them whenever and wherever they want to. Also, it is more affordable that people are not willing to pay such a costly fee to visit a doctor. Specifically, mainstream medical treatments require high-tech tools, engineered medicines, and surgeries that can be very costly. In comparison, since alternatives use energies, oils, herbs and therapeutic touch to heal, such treatments generally are less expensive. Besides, there are lots of advertisements on social media promoting their treatments which are said that can help clients to deal with any specific problems. They highlight how such treatments put emphasis on whole-body care, meaning they not only address one’s physical body but also one’s emotional and spiritual health. Using natural substances like herbs and oils, alternative medicine is gentler than mainstream medicine and typically doesn’t cause side effects that damage one’s body. Nevertheless, overall, this development can be quite harmful due to the following reasons. First, doctors are professionals. They can give patients useful advice on how to get well immediately, and they can offer patients the most suitable medicines according to their illness. People will not be entirely recovered unless they visit a doctor. For instance, there are plenty of individuals suffering from headaches, and a majority of them chose to ignore the pain or just get a massage or drink green tea. However, it is better for them to consult a medical practitioner and figure out what are the causes that made them feel uncomfortable. The bad habits of avoiding going to medical experts for diagnosis can lead to serious problems. In fact, if those with conditions or symptoms that need to be relieved right away opt for alternatives, they might miss the window of opportunity to cure their diseases since these treatments take time to work and are not useful in emergency situations. What is more, people's knowledge of non-mainstream medicines and treatments is insufficient. For example, there are families buying herbal medicines to relieve headaches. It is better to visit doctors for any medical issues since they are medically trained to be aware of the changes in a patient’s health and can address them quickly with changes in medication or help their patient find a specialist. Moreover, non-conventional treatments are not medically certified. In most countries, they are not classified as drugs and are hence not subject to the same regulations in terms of efficacy and safety, or in the way they are marketed. When people are ill or even when they have hurt any parts of their body, they should not try any alternative treatments rather than consult a medical doctor to seek professional advice. It is a very dangerous action for them to try such treatments which are not done by medical professionals, especially given how these treatments are not conducted by registered practitioners who are permitted to work by a regulatory board, so there is nothing to stop unethical, or even, unsafe practice from taking place.