Advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

These days the idea of having one common language for the whole world is supported by more and more people. This concept is tied to the difficulty of worldwide communication because of the abundance of languages. This essay will convey the upsides and downsides of having a sole universal language for the whole of humanity and provide a logical conclusion. The whole World speaking one language would benefit international communication and, consequently, other spheres such as tourism or education, where intercontinental interaction is involved. To cite an example, the recent research, conveyed by scholars at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology demonstrated that around 20% of people in the United States do not opt for travelling to some Asian countries like Malaysia and Indonesia. The reason behind that is the fact that the English language is barely spoken by local people there, which might be the cause of the mass misunderstandings. If there was a universal language to communicate, more countries would be visited by foreigners, which, consequently, would boost their economies as well. However, with the increase in one's economy, the unemployment rate would mountain up as well. Hundreds of millions of interpreters, translating applications developers and language teachers would be unemployed. For instance, according to the statistics of Austria, around one - third of the country's population work in language -related fields. Hence, the above concept would only exacerbate economic growth rather than improve it. Furthermore, with the loss of each language, the cultural identity of a government would evaporate. Consequently, life would probably become monotonous and, besides, the World would turn into a sole large society, instead of being an independent separate country. To conclude, the disadvantages of having one language in the World significantly outweigh its benefits. While easier communication is regarded as the only benefit for humans, there are far more detrimental consequences, particularly large-scale unemployment and loss of cultural identity, that would destroy the government's integrity.