In some cities, people are choosing cars instead of bicycles, while in other cities riding bikes is replacing cars. Why is this the case? Which development do you think is better?

In a few cities, bikes are given priority over cars, while in others pedal rides are being replaced by car drives. This essay will discuss why this is the case, followed by my opinion. Many people choose to use an automobile over a pedal because they think cycling is less time-consuming and more comfortable. However, pedals are only useful for short distances and they are not air-conditioned, so the public will be uncomfortable in cold or hot weather, plus the pedal takes physical effort to pedal, which makes the public feel very tired. For instance, in Baotou, a small city in China, commuters tend to choose vehicles as their transportation as it takes an average of one hour to get to work by pedal compared to just 30 minutes by car. Nevertheless, many metropolitan areas encourage their citizens to travel by pedal rather than a vehicle, as cycling can bring many benefits to the city and the public. Cycling involves pedalling, which activates your body and keeps your heart strong. On top of this, it does not produce any kind of pollution in the environment and does not add to traffic. Moreover, since parking spaces are very limited and the cost of parking is extremely high in a metropolis, trying to use bicycles instead of cars is more cost-saving for many people. These benefits are highly needed to improve both lifestyle and the environment under global warming conditions. For example, in Amsterdam, the government has given top priority to bike riders and created separate bike lanes to promote the idea. Today, the majority of the city's population only rides bicycles. In conclusion, taking into account the above facts and the health benefits of cycling, I believe that this development is far better and should be adopted by all places around the world.