Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reason for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

People's motivation for walking is reducing over time despite its benefits. This essay will address the cause and how to prevent that. Firstly, I will explain why that happens. Secondly, I will tell you the solutions for it. The Indonesian government data released recently shows that the number of pedestrians dropped by 5% between 2020 and 2024. This happens because pedestrian’s interest in walking is reduced. People agree that the reduced number emerges due to the lack of infrastructure for walking. Additionally, most walking environments are not comfortable because of the surrounding environment's pollution. Although this may be the case, some society argues that those do not correlate with society’s interest in walking. In reality, research in 2017 shows that the decreasing number of walking routes to allocate spaces to the road parallels the number of pedestrians. Thereupon, it indicates the correlation between the diminishing amount of walking track and people‘s interest in walking is true. Where walking spaces are the source of that issue, it could also be the key to preventing it. While increasing the amount of walkways could be one way to overcome that problem, improving the path quality is the key to addressing that. After all, some pedestrians complain the walking paths have not reached their area and the existing ones do not meet the required standards. With attention to that, the Indonesian government recently built thousands of walking passages and points up the comfort aspect in Jakarta. Consequently, the citizens use it more for sports or to reach their workplaces. Generally speaking, the infrastructure is the key to preventing them from being reduced more in the following years. Overall, people's lack of motivation is the cause of this problem. To address that problem, Increasing the quantity and the quality of its infrastructure should cease the lower the drop.