Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The government in some countries spend a huge cost on preparing for the global competition such as Olympic Games.I completely agree that those expenditures should be put into motivating young children to do sports activities. There are several reasons why funds should not be spent on preparing athletes. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to train athletes and staff involved, not only the trainers' cost but also extra expense for the training venue. Secondly, money would be wasted if there is not a good result, to illustrate, countries all over the world would attend the football World Cup, and it is difficult to have an excellent rank in this environment. Finally, the cost that is put in the training programme does not benefit the general public. I believe that it would be more suitable to spend this fund on child education by doing sports. To begin with, it is cheaper to train a kid than a professional,everything we need to do is prepare some games to grow their interest in doing sports. Also, putting money into children's education such as encouraging them to take up sports can help kids explore themselves, to find out their abilities. Last but not least, children taking up sports from a young age means that potential athletes can be found at an early stage, which would enhance the overall sports ranking of society. In conclusion, I believe that having funds to motivate young kids to do sport is more beneficial than putting money into preparing for competitions, such as training competitors.