ome university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s competitive world, higher education is essential for a successful career path. While some students in university are keen to learn additional subjects on top of their major subjects, others believe that giving the most time and attention towards one qualification is more important. In my opinion, focusing on one area of study is a smart and efficient way to achieve success. This essay will discuss both views and restate my opinion. First and foremost, the proponents of the claim that some university students want to learn about other subjects beyond their core subjects argue that it helps students to broaden their knowledge and overall enhances their critical thinking skills. This will make them well-rounded individuals and prepare them for better opportunities. Furthermore, graduates will be able to expand their horizons across multidisciplinary fields and have more career options. For example, a student from a science major can have chances to work in corporate sectors if they have acquired knowledge and a professional certificate in management or accounting. Thus, it is always an advantage to learn additional subjects to become more marketable in future. On the contrary, some think that it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for one specific qualification. The supporters of this viewpoint believe that having a specific goal to master a qualification is vital because it will increase their chances of being the best in the particular field. Moreover, spending most of the time on a particular area of subjects will lead them to achieve results of flying colours. This will make them one of the top applicants for a specialised role such as a surgeon, laboratory chemist, or an engineer. Therefore, it is important to focus on the main subjects which students are interested in so that they will become more skill-oriented candidates. In conclusion, while both arguments are valid, I side with the view that focusing on the main subjects and one qualification will prepare them to be more goal-oriented and successful in their path, which will make them qualified for future careers that they desire.