Today, many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons and what are the effects on individuals and society?

Spending time at home is essential for modern people to rest and recharge after finishing a busy long day. However, investigations showed a declining number of hours folks stay at home nowadays. This is a result of various factors and certain effects can be expected. The increasingly busy schedule keeps people busy all day, leaving them little time for resting at home. Firstly, many employers demand their employees to work overtime to finish a project. For example, software engineers in China often have to work until midnight and over the weekends. Besides, city residents are often attracted by the endless entertaining activities so they prefer to have parties or watch movies with peers instead of going home. Lastly, for commuters living in the suburb to save rentals, there is not much time left for them to stay in their rooms given the long hours spent in cars, subways, buses, or trains. This phenomenon presents both positive and negative effects on individuals and society. On one hand, individuals may earn/save more money and explore different possibilities in their life. Society can also expect faster economic growth from the overtime work and entertainment of the population. Nevertheless, negative effects like the reduced happiness index in the society due to the lack of quality rest of its residents can never be neglected as it will inevitably affect the sustainability of the development of the area. In conclusion, a lot of people are spending less time at home for a variety of reasons, and it displays both advantages and disadvantages for individuals and society.