Today, many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons and what are the effects on individuals and society?

Spending time at home is essential for people to rest and recharge after finishing a long day, especially for those who have a busy day at work However, there are indications that the number of hours people stay at home is in decline. This is the result of numerous factors, and the effects of this are varied, which will be further explained below. An increasingly full schedule keeps people busy all day, leaving them little time for resting at home. There are three main reasons for this. First, many employers either demand or expect their employees to work overtime to finish a project. For example, software engineers in China often have to work until midnight and over the weekend. Additionally, city residents are often attracted by the endless entertainment activities. Thus, they prefer to attend parties or watch movies with friends or colleagues instead of going home. Finally, for commuters living in the suburbs, there is not much time left for them to enjoy the peace and quiet of their homes after the long hours spent in cars, subways, buses, or trains to commute to and from work. This phenomenon presents both positive and negative effects on individuals and society. On one hand, individuals may earn or save more money while exploring different possibilities in life. Society can also expect faster economic growth from overtime work, and the amount of time and money people spend on entertainment. However, negative effects like the reduced happiness index in society suggest the lack of rest for people cannot be neglected as it will inevitably affect people ’s health conditions which will negatively affect the sustainability of the area. In conclusion, a lot of people are spending less time at home because of an increased workload, greater entertainment attractions, and the lengthier times commuting. This is more beneficial for companies and the economy than for individuals. Overall, it displays both advantages and disadvantages for individuals and society.