Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the changing world, a great number of women all over the world pursue higher studies. Some believe that higher education institutes like universities should hold an equal portion of seats for both males and females in every subject. However, I partially agree with this statement and in this essay I would like to discuss my arguments. Firstly, receiving proper education is a basic human right and it should not be decided on their sex. Taking South Asian countries as an example where sexism and stigma around women's studies are prominent, most of the girls are moulded not to choose certain subjects like Engineering as their higher studies. A great example was seen when the intake of an Engineering faculty in India had lesser acceptance rates for females than males, which became the highlight of the newspapers around the world last year. Many stated that it was demotivating to the bright intelligent girls who would one day become great scientists, doctors or engineers and that rules should be implemented to maintain a proper equilibrium in the acceptance ratios. On the other hand, it is deemed unfair if a subject has a natural dominance. Some of the subjects are male-dominant (like automobile engineering) while others are female-dominant (like caretakers). If we give equal opportunities to both sexes in a male dominant field, like automobile engineering, there will be a lesser number of opportunities for males who are actually interested. So if we can provide opportunities to both sexes without considering their gender, we will be able to let them receive the education they deserve. To conclude, I agree that much focus and attention should be kept on paying equal importance to both men and women when it comes to getting accepted into universities.