Some people believe that plastic shopping bags damage the environment and their use should be prohibited. Other people insist that consumers should have the right to choose whether they want to use a plastic bag or not. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Plastic abuse is becoming a serious environmental problem these years and shopping bags is one of the main source of plastic in people's daily life. Many said that there should be a ban on plastic shopping bags for protecting our earth. However, some people believe that they should have the freedom to pick the bags for groceries. Plastic is a material that can last over hundreds without being melted naturally, this is its an advantage but also weakness. Countless wild animals such as seals, and sea turtles around the world have been negatively affected such as eating it accidentally by plastic since it had been invented in last decades. In the meanwhile, most of the plastic shopping bags are just thrown away after been used once or twice and these bags could be either buried or thrown to the river and go to ocean finally. unfortunately,these two ways can not deal with these bags environmentally-friendly. Therefore, the limination limitation on plastic shopping bags is necessary. However, it can not be doubted that plastic shopping bags is cheap, convenient and durable compared with other material bags such as paper or cloth. It may increase people's grocery cost if there is no plastic shopping bags available. Furthermore, paper and cloth bags can not be replace with plastic bags perfectly as they are not water-proof and as stable as plastics bags. In my opinion, the right for choosing shopping bags should not be taken from the general public, but people's awareness of reusing plastic shopping bags needs to be increased and better plastic recycling methods should be used. In conclusion, plastic shopping bags is damaging our environment indeed but people should keep their right for using them the awareness of reusing and the methods of recycling can not be ignored.