In some countries, people prefer to rent their home rather than buying them. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of renting homes?

Globally, most people see the shelter as one of the basic needs of life. Some individuals prefer to lease their apartments than purchase one. This essay will be discussing the merits and demerits of renting homes. To begin with, there are several reasons that make someone want to lease a home, some of these involve saving costs and focusing on other projects. When renting a house, one goes for what they can afford and maintain easily, thereby having some savings for other investments and projects. For instance, a person that rents a small apartment can have enough money to plan their own business due to the small amount spent on getting the apartment. However, if an individual decided to buy a home, one may go bankrupt and stranded which may also affect other plans. In order words, leasing a house can give room for other investments and projects. On the other hand, buying a home is very expensive but comes with a lot of comfort and convenience, which brings about the disadvantages of renting a house. Firstly, there is no comfort and freedom from renting an apartment because one is living on someone else property, therefore has to obey the rules and regulations that govern the place, unlike the freedom of being in one's own house. Also, in the long term, it is not advisable economically because the standard of living increases daily. Hence, there might be an increase in rent. For instance, a recent study has shown that 90% of homeless people are due to the increasing economic and rent which they can not afford. However, this could have been avoided if they have their own home. In summary, renting a house is not financially smart because of the long-time consequences but if it is for a temporary purposes, so one can focus on other projects then it is a good choice. Hence, deciding on purchasing an apartment or leasing one depends on future plans and budgets.