Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that all the food must be produced inside a nation and food imports should be reduced. I completely disagree with this because to make this really all the farmers should follow some unethical practices to meet the demand and most importantly the public cannot enjoy the wide variety of eatables this planet is already offering. The first main reason why a country should never pressure its farmers on producing all the foodstuff is that this leads to some tough decisions which cannot be good for the community's health in long term. These implications are nothing but using huge amounts of pesticides and antibiotics to increase the output. For example, India, by default imports less amount of grains because it is one of the largest producers of it, so, to meet the demands of the one billion population, farmers are using chemical fertilizers to protect the crops and produce them in huge amounts. The second main reason this should not be regulated is that many people will be missing a huge amount of options from around the world. One country can only produce a limited variety of fruits and vegetables due to geographical location and weather conditions. To mitigate this issue, a nation should always import a wide range of agricultural products from around the globe. For instance, Canada has a huge disadvantage because of its cold climate and due to, this it can produce limited varieties of food. So, to satisfy its population, it needs to import all the lacking produce from the nearby countries. In conclusion, I believe that a country should never restrict itself from importing agricultural products and should never demand its people to produce all the food because it leads to dangerous outputs along with missing out on the wide variety of foods this earth is offering.