Nowadays, many people use the Internet instead of going to see a doctor to search for solutions to their medical problems. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Until now, residents’ health has been under the spotlight for a while with an ongoing debate over whether we should visit doctors at hospitals or search for treatments online. In my opinion, the latter is perceived as an acceptable approach and could exert a positive influence on our societies. It is perhaps true in some conditions that this alternative method is not able to cater for various patients. To be more precise, clinicians in face-to-face diagnosis can take all the background conditions of a patient into account, ranging from the previous treatment to food allergy, whereas online medical solutions could hardly achieve that. Because they are edited with generalized explanations in advance. Under these circumstances, it is always challenging for citizens to locate the proper treatment of a specific disease online and they may be confused by the diverse therapies with identical symptoms. Additionally, some websites of medical analyses provide anything but exaggerated or even ridiculous content since they have evolved into commercial advertising to capture would-be customers to purchase their consulting services. However, the significance of searching for therapies on the Internet has been amplified in the era of a surging population. Generally speaking, city-dwellers could basically rely on online remedies for some common ailments including scratches, fever, or stomachache. With the guidance of online medical posts, whether the adjustment of diet or the involvement of physical exercises, it is easy for patients to recover in their own efforts. Therefore, citizens’ demands for medical treatment in hospitals would be largely declined, which is the key to easing the financial burden and mitigating the limited treatment rooms of national healthcare systems. In conclusion, the massive emergence of finding therapies on the Internet is acceptable and our societies could benefit from it. We could totally follow the solution for daily ailments, but in some severe scenarios, we have to receive professional treatment in the hospital.